Skip to content

SumUp vs Tide: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, Tide takes these industries by its own published rules: Adult, with conditions. We hold no such rule from SumUp.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

Tide

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

SumUp and Tide: published policy by industry
IndustrySumUpTide
AdultNoWith conditions
CryptoDepends on the activityNo
iGamingNoNo
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo
Forex and CFDNoNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

SumUp

No published rule

Tide

No published rule

Rules about countries

SumUp

You can register with SumUp to accept card payments if you operate in one of the following European countries or territories.

SumUp · Takes companies registered in · · Source
All countries named (42)

Åland Islands, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Hungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Martinique, Mayotte, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Réunion, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Martin, St Pierre & Miquelon, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Tide

No published rule

Fees

SumUp

SumUp: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Account (UK, SumUp Payments Limited)Not statedGBP 0 ('£0/month') · Source
Business Account Plus (UK, SumUp Payments Limited)Not statedGBP 15 ('£15/month') · Source
SumUp Business Account (EU, SumUp Limited, Ireland page)Free to open (the Ireland page includes a 'Free business account and IBAN')EUR 0 ('No monthly fee'; 'Monthly cost' shown as € 0) · Source

Tide

Tide: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
FreeNot statedGBP 0 a month ('No plan fee') · Source
SmartNot statedGBP 12.49 a month, or GBP 99.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
ProNot statedGBP 27.49 a month, or GBP 219.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
MaxNot statedGBP 69.99 a month, or GBP 559.92 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source

Closing an account

SumUp

We reserve the right to terminate the Payment Terms either on two months’ notice or, subject to applicable law, immediately if:

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What SumUp’s terms say

Tide

22.2. We may terminate the Tide Membership Terms by giving you at least ninety (90) days’ prior written notice and include a written statement of our reasons and the justification for such termination except where we are not permitted to provide such reasons pursuant to applicable law or regulation or the prevention and detection of a crime.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Tide’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeSumUpTide
LicenseeSumUp Payments Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the FCA (FRN 900700) · SumUp Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland (C195030)Tide Platform Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 900843) · accounts provided by ClearBank Ltd (UK bank, FRN 754568)
RegulatorFCA / Central Bank of Ireland · FCA ·