SumUp
SumUp: Depends on the activity: Crypto. Last verified October 17, 2026.
- SumUp Payments Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the FCA (FRN 900700) · SumUp Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland (C195030)
- FCA / Central Bank of Ireland ·
Where it takes companies from
- Åland Islands
- Austria
- Belgium
- Bulgaria
- Cyprus
- Czechia
- Denmark
- Estonia
- Finland
- France
- French Guiana
- Germany
- Gibraltar
- Greece
- Guadeloupe
- Guernsey
- Hungary
- Ireland
- Isle of Man
- Italy
- Jersey
- Latvia
- Lithuania
- Luxembourg
- Malta
- Martinique
- Mayotte
- Netherlands
- Norway
- Poland
- Portugal
- Réunion
- Romania
- Slovakia
- Slovenia
- Spain
- St Barthélemy
- St Martin
- St Pierre & Miquelon
- Sweden
- Switzerland
- United Kingdom
Its own list of countries, quoted below with its source and date
Products it publishes
Company cardsSays it offers this
Accepting card paymentsSays it offers this
Bulk payoutsSays it offers this
With the Business Account Plus plan, you can make up to 500 transfers at once from your Business Account.
Does not say it offers: International payments and FX, Virtual accounts for your customers, Crypto on- and off-ramp, Safeguarding account, Client money account, Escrow
As its own pages say it, each quote with the date we read it. A product it does not mention is never shown as one it does not offer.
Currencies it holds
Holds EURa balance; account details of its own in this currency
Holds GBPa balance; account details of its own on the local payment system
Once you’ve signed up and verified your identity, your account number and sort code are ready to use straight away
You can receive transfers from other GBP accounts. It’s currently not possible to process transfers using CHAPS
Does not say it holds: CAD, SGD, HKD, AUD
Only currencies its own pages name, each quote with the date we read it. A currency it does not mention is never shown as one it does not hold.
Policy by industry
| Industry | Status | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Crypto | Depends on the activity | |
| iGaming | No | |
| Adult | No | |
| Unlicensed financial services | No | |
| Forex and CFD | No |
No published rule (read in full on October 9, 2026): AI and SaaS, Marketplace
Has this rule changed? Tell us
Fees
| Plan | Account opening | Monthly | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business Account (UK, SumUp Payments Limited) | Not stated | GBP 0 ('£0/month') | · Source |
| Business Account Plus (UK, SumUp Payments Limited) | Not stated | GBP 15 ('£15/month') | · Source |
| SumUp Business Account (EU, SumUp Limited, Ireland page) | Free to open (the Ireland page includes a 'Free business account and IBAN') | EUR 0 ('No monthly fee'; 'Monthly cost' shown as € 0) | · Source |
Closing an account
We reserve the right to terminate the Payment Terms either on two months’ notice or, subject to applicable law, immediately if:
If you are not satisfied with our response - or if you have not received a response for 35 days - you have the right to forward your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS)
Account closed or frozen? What SumUp’s terms say
Rules about countries
You can register with SumUp to accept card payments if you operate in one of the following European countries or territories.
All countries named (42)
Åland Islands, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Hungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Martinique, Mayotte, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Réunion, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Martin, St Pierre & Miquelon, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom
What we read
- Acceptable use and prohibited activities
- Read · help.sumup.com/en-GB/articles/3G8ZHjdgF… · help.sumup.com/en-IE/articles/3G8ZHjdgF… · sumup.com/en-gb/terms · sumup.com/en-ie/terms
- Help pages on particular industries
- Read · help.sumup.com/en-GB/articles/3G8ZHjdgF… · help.sumup.com/en-IE/articles/3G8ZHjdgF…
- Countries it takes
- Read · help.sumup.com/en-GB/articles/6DXS0JKhs… · help.sumup.com/en-IE/articles/6DXS0JKhs…
- Countries it refuses
- Read · help.sumup.com/en-GB/articles/6DXS0JKhs… · help.sumup.com/en-IE/articles/6DXS0JKhs…
- Rules on owners and directors
- Searched, none published
- Prices
- Read · sumup.com/en-gb/business-account/pricing · help.sumup.com/en-GB/articles/3oFEhTC7q… · sumup.com/en-ie/business-account/pricing
- Terms on closing accounts
- Read · sumup.com/en-gb/terms/payment · sumup.com/en-ie/terms/payment · sumup.com/en-gb/terms · sumup.com/en-ie/terms
- Complaints
- Read · sumup.com/en-gb/complaints-process · sumup.com/en-ie/complaints-process
- Licence register
- Read · register.fca.org.uk/s/firm · registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDa…