Skip to content

Modulr vs SumUp: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, we hold published rules from Modulr on 0 of 7 industries and from SumUp on 5.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

Modulr

  • United Kingdom
  • EU / EEA (western & northern, plus Spain, Italy, Portugal)
  • EU / EEA (Baltics, central & eastern, plus Croatia, Greece, Cyprus, Malta)

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

Modulr and SumUp: published policy by industry
IndustryModulrSumUp
CryptoNo published ruleDepends on the activity
iGamingNo published ruleNo
AdultNo published ruleNo
Unlicensed financial servicesNo published ruleNo
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

Modulr

No published rule

SumUp

No published rule

Rules about countries

Modulr

Use of Modulr’s services for any dealings, engagement, or sale of goods/services directly or indirectly with the following are prohibited: … Jurisdictions Modulr has deemed as prohibited, including but not limited to - Afghanistan, Belarus, (Democratic Republic of) Congo, Cuba, Haiti, (Islamic Republic of) Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Russian Federation, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Yemen.

Modulr · Refuses companies or owners from · · Source

Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, DR Congo, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Yemen

SumUp

You can register with SumUp to accept card payments if you operate in one of the following European countries or territories.

SumUp · Takes companies registered in · · Source
All countries named (42)

Åland Islands, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Hungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Martinique, Mayotte, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Réunion, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Martin, St Pierre & Miquelon, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Fees

Modulr

All 9 fee lines, by plan and country
Modulr: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Bundle (Accounts Payable, Spend Management and Payroll Payments) BronzeNot statedGBP 30.00 · Source
Bundle SilverNot statedGBP 110.00 · Source
Bundle PlatinumNot statedGBP 500.00 · Source
Accounts Payable & Spend Management BronzeNot statedGBP 20.00 · Source
Accounts Payable & Spend Management SilverNot statedGBP 75.00 · Source
Accounts Payable & Spend Management PlatinumNot statedGBP 320.00 · Source
Payroll Payments BronzeNot statedGBP 16.25 · Source
Payroll Payments SilverNot statedGBP 67.20 · Source
Payroll Payments PlatinumNot statedGBP 300.00 · Source

SumUp

SumUp: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Account (UK, SumUp Payments Limited)Not statedGBP 0 ('£0/month') · Source
Business Account Plus (UK, SumUp Payments Limited)Not statedGBP 15 ('£15/month') · Source
SumUp Business Account (EU, SumUp Limited, Ireland page)Free to open (the Ireland page includes a 'Free business account and IBAN')EUR 0 ('No monthly fee'; 'Monthly cost' shown as € 0) · Source

Closing an account

Modulr

11.1 We can terminate your Account at any time if we give at least three (3) months’ notice and transfer any Available Balance at the time to your nominated bank account without a charge.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Modulr’s terms say

SumUp

We reserve the right to terminate the Payment Terms either on two months’ notice or, subject to applicable law, immediately if:

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What SumUp’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeModulrSumUp
LicenseeModulr FS Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the FCA (FRN 900573) · Modulr Finance B.V. · electronic money institution authorised by De Nederlandsche Bank (R182870)SumUp Payments Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the FCA (FRN 900700) · SumUp Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland (C195030)
RegulatorFCA / DNB · FCA / Central Bank of Ireland ·