Skip to content

iBanFirst vs Modulr: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, we hold no rule from iBanFirst or Modulr on the 7 industries we track; below, side by side: where each takes companies from, its fees, its terms on closing accounts and its licence.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

iBanFirst

  • United Kingdom
  • EU / EEA (western & northern, plus Spain, Italy, Portugal)
  • EU / EEA (Baltics, central & eastern, plus Croatia, Greece, Cyprus, Malta)

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Modulr

  • United Kingdom
  • EU / EEA (western & northern, plus Spain, Italy, Portugal)
  • EU / EEA (Baltics, central & eastern, plus Croatia, Greece, Cyprus, Malta)

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

iBanFirst and Modulr: published policy by industry
IndustryiBanFirstModulr
CryptoNo published ruleNo published rule
iGamingNo published ruleNo published rule
AdultNo published ruleNo published rule
Unlicensed financial servicesNo published ruleNo published rule
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

iBanFirst

No published rule

Modulr

No published rule

Rules about countries

iBanFirst

No published rule

Modulr

Use of Modulr’s services for any dealings, engagement, or sale of goods/services directly or indirectly with the following are prohibited: … Jurisdictions Modulr has deemed as prohibited, including but not limited to - Afghanistan, Belarus, (Democratic Republic of) Congo, Cuba, Haiti, (Islamic Republic of) Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Russian Federation, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Yemen.

Modulr · Refuses companies or owners from · · Source

Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, DR Congo, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Yemen

Fees

iBanFirst

iBanFirst: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
iBanFirst account (Europe except Luxembourg)Free to open ('Opening fee Free')None ('Maintenance fees Free'); these prices apply to companies making at least EUR 200,000 of foreign exchange transactions a year, below that a fee on incoming payments may be charged · Source
iBanFirst Limited account (UK)Free to open ('Opening fees Free')None ('Maintenance fees Free'); an account is for companies making at least GBP 50k of foreign exchange payments a year · Source
iBanFirst account (Luxembourg)Not statedEUR 2,500 a year for each account, as an annual fee ('Price by account'); no monthly fee is listed · Source

Modulr

All 9 fee lines, by plan and country
Modulr: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Bundle (Accounts Payable, Spend Management and Payroll Payments) BronzeNot statedGBP 30.00 · Source
Bundle SilverNot statedGBP 110.00 · Source
Bundle PlatinumNot statedGBP 500.00 · Source
Accounts Payable & Spend Management BronzeNot statedGBP 20.00 · Source
Accounts Payable & Spend Management SilverNot statedGBP 75.00 · Source
Accounts Payable & Spend Management PlatinumNot statedGBP 320.00 · Source
Payroll Payments BronzeNot statedGBP 16.25 · Source
Payroll Payments SilverNot statedGBP 67.20 · Source
Payroll Payments PlatinumNot statedGBP 300.00 · Source

Closing an account

iBanFirst

We may give you two (2) months' notice in writing that your status as a Client has been terminated, but these Terms shall continue to apply to any contract or Trade then in place.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What iBanFirst’s terms say

Modulr

11.1 We can terminate your Account at any time if we give at least three (3) months’ notice and transfer any Available Balance at the time to your nominated bank account without a charge.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Modulr’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeiBanFirstModulr
LicenseeiBanFirst S.A. · payment institution authorised by the National Bank of Belgium · iBanFirst Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 1001629)Modulr FS Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the FCA (FRN 900573) · Modulr Finance B.V. · electronic money institution authorised by De Nederlandsche Bank (R182870)
RegulatorNational Bank of Belgium / FCA · FCA / DNB ·