Skip to content

Equals Money vs SumUp: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, Equals Money takes these industries by its own published rules: iGaming; Forex and CFD. We hold no such rule from SumUp.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

Equals Money

  • United Kingdom
  • EU / EEA (western & northern, plus Spain, Italy, Portugal)
  • EU / EEA (Baltics, central & eastern, plus Croatia, Greece, Cyprus, Malta)

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

Equals Money and SumUp: published policy by industry
IndustryEquals MoneySumUp
iGamingYesNo
Forex and CFDYesNo
CryptoDepends on the activityDepends on the activity
AdultNo published ruleNo
Unlicensed financial servicesNo published ruleNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

Equals Money

No published rule

SumUp

No published rule

Rules about countries

Equals Money

No published rule

SumUp

You can register with SumUp to accept card payments if you operate in one of the following European countries or territories.

SumUp · Takes companies registered in · · Source
All countries named (42)

Åland Islands, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Hungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Martinique, Mayotte, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Réunion, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Martin, St Pierre & Miquelon, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Fees

Equals Money

No fee we could verify

SumUp

SumUp: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Account (UK, SumUp Payments Limited)Not statedGBP 0 ('£0/month') · Source
Business Account Plus (UK, SumUp Payments Limited)Not statedGBP 15 ('£15/month') · Source
SumUp Business Account (EU, SumUp Limited, Ireland page)Free to open (the Ireland page includes a 'Free business account and IBAN')EUR 0 ('No monthly fee'; 'Monthly cost' shown as € 0) · Source

Closing an account

Equals Money

29.1 We may terminate the Services provided under these Terms at any time by giving you one (1) month's notice.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Equals Money’s terms say

SumUp

We reserve the right to terminate the Payment Terms either on two months’ notice or, subject to applicable law, immediately if:

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What SumUp’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeEquals MoneySumUp
LicenseeEquals Money International Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 900493) · Equals Money PLC · payment institution (FRN 488396)SumUp Payments Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the FCA (FRN 900700) · SumUp Limited · electronic money institution authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland (C195030)
RegulatorFCA · FCA / Central Bank of Ireland ·