Skip to content

Starling Bank vs Tide: what each publishes

As of October 7, 2026

The published rules of Starling Bank and Tide, side by side: which industries each excludes or accepts, where owners must live, which countries each names, the licence each holds and the fees each publishes. Each answer links to the page that quotes the rule with the date we read it.

This is not a ranking, and the two names are in alphabetical order. Either provider may still decline your company because of its activity, where it is registered, where its owners live or which licence it holds. The free check applies the rules of every provider in our base to your answers.

Policy by industry

Starling Bank and Tide: published policy by industry
IndustryStarling BankTide
CryptoNo published ruleNo
iGamingNoNo
AdultNoWith conditions
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Licence

LicenseeStarling BankTide
LicenseeStarling Bank Ltd · bank authorised by the PRA and FCA (FRN 730166)Tide Platform Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 900843) · accounts provided by ClearBank Ltd (UK bank, FRN 754568)
RegulatorPRA / FCA · FCA ·

Where owners must live

Starling Bank

All persons of significant control (PSC) of your Limited Company or LLP are individuals and are residents of the United Kingdom (i.e. no corporate shareholders). … All directors and limited partners with access to the account are residents of the United Kingdom.

Owners and directors · · Source

Tide

No published rule

Rules about countries

Starling Bank

No published rule

Tide

No published rule

Fees

Starling Bank

Starling Bank: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business accountNot statedNone ('no monthly fees') · Source
Euro business account (add-on)Not statedGBP 2 a month · Source
Accounting Plus (add-on)Not statedGBP 7 a month until April 2027, then GBP 14 a month · Source

Tide

Tide: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
FreeNot statedGBP 0 a month ('No plan fee') · Source
SmartNot statedGBP 12.49 a month, or GBP 99.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
ProNot statedGBP 27.49 a month, or GBP 219.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
MaxNot statedGBP 69.99 a month, or GBP 559.92 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source