Skip to content

Santander UK vs Starling Bank: what each publishes

As of October 7, 2026

The published rules of Santander UK and Starling Bank, side by side: which industries each excludes or accepts, where owners must live, which countries each names, the licence each holds and the fees each publishes. Each answer links to the page that quotes the rule with the date we read it.

This is not a ranking, and the two names are in alphabetical order. Either provider may still decline your company because of its activity, where it is registered, where its owners live or which licence it holds. The free check applies the rules of every provider in our base to your answers.

Policy by industry

Santander UK and Starling Bank: published policy by industry
IndustrySantander UKStarling Bank
CryptoNo published ruleNo published rule
iGamingNo published ruleNo
AdultNo published ruleNo
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Licence

LicenseeSantander UKStarling Bank
LicenseeSantander UK plc · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 106054)Starling Bank Ltd · bank authorised by the PRA and FCA (FRN 730166)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · PRA / FCA ·

Where owners must live

Santander UK

have a maximum of two directors, owners (shareholders) or partners who are 18 or over and live in the UK.

Owners and directors · · Source

Starling Bank

All persons of significant control (PSC) of your Limited Company or LLP are individuals and are residents of the United Kingdom (i.e. no corporate shareholders). … All directors and limited partners with access to the account are residents of the United Kingdom.

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

Santander UK

No published rule

Starling Bank

No published rule

Fees

Santander UK

Santander UK: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current Account ClassicNot statedGBP 9.99 a month; none for the first 12 months for start-ups and switchers; cash, cheque, CHAPS and foreign currency transactions are charged · Source

Starling Bank

Starling Bank: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business accountNot statedNone ('no monthly fees') · Source
Euro business account (add-on)Not statedGBP 2 a month · Source
Accounting Plus (add-on)Not statedGBP 7 a month until April 2027, then GBP 14 a month · Source