Skip to content

Lloyds Bank vs Santander UK: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, we hold published rules from Lloyds Bank on 0 of 7 industries and from Santander UK on 2.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

Lloyds Bank

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Santander UK

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

Lloyds Bank and Santander UK: published policy by industry
IndustryLloyds BankSantander UK
CryptoNo published ruleNo
Unlicensed financial servicesNo published ruleNo
iGamingNo published ruleNo published rule
AdultNo published ruleNo published rule
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

Lloyds Bank

To open a business bank account online, you must: be the owner or director of the business be at least 18 years old be a UK resident with a UK mobile phone number

Owners and directors · · Source

Santander UK

have a maximum of two directors, owners (shareholders) or partners who are 18 or over and live in the UK.

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

Lloyds Bank

No published rule

Santander UK

No published rule

Fees

Lloyds Bank

Lloyds Bank: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business AccountNot statedNone for the first 12 months (first Lloyds Business Account only), then GBP 10 a month; cash, cheque, BACS and CHAPS items are charged · Source

Santander UK

Santander UK: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current Account ClassicNot statedGBP 9.99 a month; none for the first 12 months for start-ups and switchers; cash, cheque, CHAPS and foreign currency transactions are charged · Source

Closing an account

Lloyds Bank

We hold no quote from its terms on notice before closing.

Account closed or frozen? What Lloyds Bank’s terms say

Santander UK

If we want to close your account or end this agreement, we'll normally give you notice and explain the reasons for our decision before we do this. We'll give you 90 days' notice if your account is a payment account.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Santander UK’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeLloyds BankSantander UK
LicenseeLloyds Bank plc · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 119278)Santander UK plc · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 106054)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA / PRA ·