Skip to content

NatWest vs Santander UK: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, NatWest takes these industries by its own published rules: iGaming, with conditions; Adult, with conditions. We hold no such rule from Santander UK.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

NatWest

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Santander UK

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

NatWest and Santander UK: published policy by industry
IndustryNatWestSantander UK
iGamingWith conditionsNo published rule
AdultWith conditionsNo published rule
CryptoNo published ruleNo
Unlicensed financial servicesNo published ruleNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

NatWest

At least one person on the application is a UK resident

Owners and directors · · Source

Santander UK

have a maximum of two directors, owners (shareholders) or partners who are 18 or over and live in the UK.

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

NatWest

No published rule

Santander UK

No published rule

Fees

NatWest

NatWest: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current Account (Standard Tariff)Not statedNone ('Benefit from our Standard Tariff with no minimum monthly charge.'); each transaction is charged under the Standard Tariff · Source
Start-up account (trading under 1 year, turnover under £1m)Not statedNone ('Free banking on everyday transactions for the first 2 years'), then the Standard Tariff 'with no minimum monthly charge' · Source

Santander UK

Santander UK: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current Account ClassicNot statedGBP 9.99 a month; none for the first 12 months for start-ups and switchers; cash, cheque, CHAPS and foreign currency transactions are charged · Source

Closing an account

NatWest

We can close your account by: • giving you at least 90 days’ notice; and • telling you our reason for closing your account.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What NatWest’s terms say

Santander UK

If we want to close your account or end this agreement, we'll normally give you notice and explain the reasons for our decision before we do this. We'll give you 90 days' notice if your account is a payment account.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Santander UK’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeNatWestSantander UK
LicenseeNational Westminster Bank Public Limited Company (NatWest) · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 121878)Santander UK plc · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 106054)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA / PRA ·