Skip to content

Metro Bank vs Santander UK: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, we hold published rules from Metro Bank on 0 of 7 industries and from Santander UK on 2.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

Metro Bank

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Santander UK

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

Metro Bank and Santander UK: published policy by industry
IndustryMetro BankSantander UK
CryptoNo published ruleNo
Unlicensed financial servicesNo published ruleNo
iGamingNo published ruleNo published rule
AdultNo published ruleNo published rule
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

Metro Bank

If you are a sole trader/sole signatory you need to be a UK resident to open this account. If there is more than one signatory, director or beneficial owner associated with the account, at least half of them must be UK residents.

Owners and directors · · Source

Santander UK

have a maximum of two directors, owners (shareholders) or partners who are 18 or over and live in the UK.

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

Metro Bank

No published rule

Santander UK

No published rule

Fees

Metro Bank

Metro Bank: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Bank AccountNot statedGBP 8 in a month the balance falls below GBP 6,000 on any day (UK transactions GBP 0.30 each); no monthly fee in a month the balance stays at GBP 6,000 or more (30 free UK transactions, then GBP 0.30 each). New customers: 12 months fee-free (offer terms apply). · Source

Santander UK

Santander UK: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current Account ClassicNot statedGBP 9.99 a month; none for the first 12 months for start-ups and switchers; cash, cheque, CHAPS and foreign currency transactions are charged · Source

Closing an account

Metro Bank

If we can, we will tell you before we suspend the service or close the account (giving you two months’ notice).

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Metro Bank’s terms say

Santander UK

If we want to close your account or end this agreement, we'll normally give you notice and explain the reasons for our decision before we do this. We'll give you 90 days' notice if your account is a payment account.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Santander UK’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeMetro BankSantander UK
LicenseeMetro Bank PLC · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 488982)Santander UK plc · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 106054)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA / PRA ·