Skip to content

HSBC UK vs Metro Bank: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, we hold no rule from HSBC UK or Metro Bank on the 7 industries we track; below, side by side: where each takes companies from, its fees, its terms on closing accounts and its licence.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

HSBC UK

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Metro Bank

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

HSBC UK and Metro Bank: published policy by industry
IndustryHSBC UKMetro Bank
CryptoNo published ruleNo published rule
iGamingNo published ruleNo published rule
AdultNo published ruleNo published rule
Unlicensed financial servicesNo published ruleNo published rule
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

HSBC UK

No published rule

Metro Bank

If you are a sole trader/sole signatory you need to be a UK resident to open this account. If there is more than one signatory, director or beneficial owner associated with the account, at least half of them must be UK residents.

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

HSBC UK

No published rule

Metro Bank

No published rule

Fees

HSBC UK

HSBC UK: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Small Business Banking AccountNot statedNone ('No monthly account fee and free UK digital banking'); cash, cheque, CHAPS and international payments are charged · Source
Business Banking Account (established businesses, Relationship Manager)Not statedNone for the first 12 months for start-up and switcher customers, then GBP 10 a month · Source

Metro Bank

Metro Bank: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Bank AccountNot statedGBP 8 in a month the balance falls below GBP 6,000 on any day (UK transactions GBP 0.30 each); no monthly fee in a month the balance stays at GBP 6,000 or more (30 free UK transactions, then GBP 0.30 each). New customers: 12 months fee-free (offer terms apply). · Source

Closing an account

HSBC UK

We may withdraw any service, move you to a different account or tariff or close your account by giving you at least 2 months’ notice.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What HSBC UK’s terms say

Metro Bank

If we can, we will tell you before we suspend the service or close the account (giving you two months’ notice).

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Metro Bank’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeHSBC UKMetro Bank
LicenseeHSBC UK Bank plc · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 765112)Metro Bank PLC · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 488982)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA / PRA ·