Skip to content

HSBC UK vs Mettle: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, we hold published rules from HSBC UK on 0 of 7 industries and from Mettle on 4.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

HSBC UK

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Mettle

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

HSBC UK and Mettle: published policy by industry
IndustryHSBC UKMettle
CryptoNo published ruleDepends on the activity
iGamingNo published ruleNo
AdultNo published ruleNo
Unlicensed financial servicesNo published ruleNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

HSBC UK

No published rule

Mettle

You’ll need to be a UK resident

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

HSBC UK

No published rule

Mettle

No published rule

Fees

HSBC UK

HSBC UK: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Small Business Banking AccountNot statedNone ('No monthly account fee and free UK digital banking'); cash, cheque, CHAPS and international payments are charged · Source
Business Banking Account (established businesses, Relationship Manager)Not statedNone for the first 12 months for start-up and switcher customers, then GBP 10 a month · Source

Mettle

Mettle: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
MettleFree to open ('It is free to open and hold a Mettle account')None ('There is no monthly fee for our standard service') · Source
Mettle+Free to open ('It is free to open and hold a Mettle account')GBP 4 a month, optional ('You can choose to turn on Mettle+ for an extra monthly charge') · Source

Closing an account

HSBC UK

We may withdraw any service, move you to a different account or tariff or close your account by giving you at least 2 months’ notice.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What HSBC UK’s terms say

Mettle

We can close your account at any time as long as we give you at least 90 days’ notice.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Mettle’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeHSBC UKMettle
LicenseeHSBC UK Bank plc · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 765112)National Westminster Bank Public Limited Company (NatWest), trading as Mettle · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 121878)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA / PRA ·