Skip to content

Mettle vs Tide: what each publishes

As of October 7, 2026

The published rules of Mettle and Tide, side by side: which industries each excludes or accepts, where owners must live, which countries each names, the licence each holds and the fees each publishes. Each answer links to the page that quotes the rule with the date we read it.

This is not a ranking, and the two names are in alphabetical order. Either provider may still decline your company because of its activity, where it is registered, where its owners live or which licence it holds. The free check applies the rules of every provider in our base to your answers.

Policy by industry

Mettle and Tide: published policy by industry
IndustryMettleTide
CryptoDepends on the activityNo
iGamingNoNo
AdultNoWith conditions
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Licence

LicenseeMettleTide
LicenseeNational Westminster Bank Public Limited Company (NatWest), trading as Mettle · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 121878)Tide Platform Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 900843) · accounts provided by ClearBank Ltd (UK bank, FRN 754568)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA ·

Where owners must live

Mettle

You’ll need to be a UK resident

Owners and directors · · Source

Tide

No published rule

Rules about countries

Mettle

No published rule

Tide

No published rule

Fees

Mettle

Mettle: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
MettleNot statedNone: 'Maintaining the account', 'No fee' · Source
Mettle+Not statedGBP 4 (optional add-on: 'Optional at £4 a month') · Source

Tide

Tide: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
FreeNot statedGBP 0 a month ('No plan fee') · Source
SmartNot statedGBP 12.49 a month, or GBP 99.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
ProNot statedGBP 27.49 a month, or GBP 219.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
MaxNot statedGBP 69.99 a month, or GBP 559.92 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source