Skip to content

Tide vs Virgin Money: what each publishes

As of October 7, 2026

The published rules of Tide and Virgin Money, side by side: which industries each excludes or accepts, where owners must live, which countries each names, the licence each holds and the fees each publishes. Each answer links to the page that quotes the rule with the date we read it.

This is not a ranking, and the two names are in alphabetical order. Either provider may still decline your company because of its activity, where it is registered, where its owners live or which licence it holds. The free check applies the rules of every provider in our base to your answers.

Policy by industry

Tide and Virgin Money: published policy by industry
IndustryTideVirgin Money
CryptoNoNo published rule
iGamingNoNo published rule
AdultWith conditionsNo published rule
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Licence

LicenseeTideVirgin Money
LicenseeTide Platform Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 900843) · accounts provided by ClearBank Ltd (UK bank, FRN 754568)Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money) · building society authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 106078)
RegulatorFCA · FCA / PRA ·

Where owners must live

Tide

No published rule

Virgin Money

At least one of the main parties (owner/partner/director) must also be a UK resident.

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

Tide

No published rule

Virgin Money

No published rule

Fees

Tide

Tide: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
FreeNot statedGBP 0 a month ('No plan fee') · Source
SmartNot statedGBP 12.49 a month, or GBP 99.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
ProNot statedGBP 27.49 a month, or GBP 219.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
MaxNot statedGBP 69.99 a month, or GBP 559.92 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source

Virgin Money

Virgin Money: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
M Account for Business (turnover under £1m)Not statedGBP 0 monthly account fee; free day-to-day app and online banking; cash withdrawals, CHAPS and international payments are charged under the tariff guide · Source
Business Current Account (turnover under £6.5m)Not statedNone for the first 25 months (free day-to-day banking offer for new businesses or businesses new to Virgin Money), then GBP 6.50 a month · Source