Skip to content

Countingup vs Tide: what each publishes

As of October 7, 2026

The published rules of Countingup and Tide, side by side: which industries each excludes or accepts, where owners must live, which countries each names, the licence each holds and the fees each publishes. Each answer links to the page that quotes the rule with the date we read it.

This is not a ranking, and the two names are in alphabetical order. Either provider may still decline your company because of its activity, where it is registered, where its owners live or which licence it holds. The free check applies the rules of every provider in our base to your answers.

Policy by industry

Countingup and Tide: published policy by industry
IndustryCountingupTide
CryptoDepends on the activityNo
iGamingNoNo
AdultNoWith conditions
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNoNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Licence

LicenseeCountingupTide
LicenseeGriffin Bank Ltd · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 970920), which provides new Countingup accounts · Prepay Technologies Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 900010), for older accountsTide Platform Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 900843) · accounts provided by ClearBank Ltd (UK bank, FRN 754568)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA ·

Where owners must live

Countingup

have all Persons of Significant Control be UK residents

Owners and directors · · Source

Tide

No published rule

Rules about countries

Countingup

No published rule

Tide

No published rule

Fees

Countingup

Countingup: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Monthly deposits up to GBP 750Not statedGBP 5 after a 3-month free trial · Source
Monthly deposits GBP 750.01 to GBP 7,500Not statedGBP 12 after a 3-month free trial · Source
Monthly deposits above GBP 7,500Not statedGBP 20 after a 3-month free trial · Source

Tide

Tide: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
FreeNot statedGBP 0 a month ('No plan fee') · Source
SmartNot statedGBP 12.49 a month, or GBP 99.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
ProNot statedGBP 27.49 a month, or GBP 219.99 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source
MaxNot statedGBP 69.99 a month, or GBP 559.92 a year paid annually; VAT not charged ("We won't charge you VAT on your paid plan") · Source