Skip to content

Countingup vs Monzo Business: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, we hold published rules from Countingup on 5 of 7 industries and from Monzo Business on 5.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

Countingup

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Monzo Business

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

Countingup and Monzo Business: published policy by industry
IndustryCountingupMonzo Business
CryptoNoDepends on the activity
iGamingNoNo
AdultNoNo published rule
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo
Forex and CFDNoNo
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

Countingup

have all Persons of Significant Control be UK residents

Owners and directors · · Source

Monzo Business

You can apply for an account if you’re: a sole trader, or the director of a registered limited company by shares (Ltd), based in the UK

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

Countingup

No published rule

Monzo Business

No published rule

Fees

Countingup

Countingup: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Monthly deposits up to GBP 750Not statedGBP 5 after a 3-month free trial · Source
Monthly deposits GBP 750.01 to GBP 7,500Not statedGBP 12 after a 3-month free trial · Source
Monthly deposits above GBP 7,500Not statedGBP 20 after a 3-month free trial · Source

Monzo Business

Monzo Business: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
LiteNot statedGBP 0 a month ('Maintaining the account (Lite)') · Source
ProNot statedGBP 9 a month ('Maintaining the account (Pro)') · Source
TeamNot statedGBP 25 a month, plus GBP 5 a month for each member after the first 6 ('Each additional member after first 6 members (Team)') · Source

Closing an account

Countingup

16.1 We can terminate this Agreement and close your Account at any time: 16.1.1 if we give you 90 days' notice and refund the Available Balance to you

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Countingup’s terms say

Monzo Business

We can close your account by giving you at least 90 days' notice.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Monzo Business’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeCountingupMonzo Business
LicenseeGriffin Bank Ltd · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 970920), which provides new Countingup accounts · Prepay Technologies Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 900010), for older accountsMonzo Bank Ltd · bank authorised by the PRA and FCA (FRN 730427)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · PRA / FCA ·