Skip to content

Countingup vs NatWest: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, NatWest takes these industries by its own published rules: iGaming, with conditions; Adult, with conditions. We hold no such rule from Countingup.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

Countingup

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

NatWest

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

Countingup and NatWest: published policy by industry
IndustryCountingupNatWest
iGamingNoWith conditions
AdultNoWith conditions
CryptoNoNo published rule
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo published rule
Forex and CFDNoNo published rule
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

Countingup

have all Persons of Significant Control be UK residents

Owners and directors · · Source

NatWest

At least one person on the application is a UK resident

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

Countingup

No published rule

NatWest

No published rule

Fees

Countingup

Countingup: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Monthly deposits up to GBP 750Not statedGBP 5 after a 3-month free trial · Source
Monthly deposits GBP 750.01 to GBP 7,500Not statedGBP 12 after a 3-month free trial · Source
Monthly deposits above GBP 7,500Not statedGBP 20 after a 3-month free trial · Source

NatWest

NatWest: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current Account (Standard Tariff)Not statedNone ('Benefit from our Standard Tariff with no minimum monthly charge.'); each transaction is charged under the Standard Tariff · Source
Start-up account (trading under 1 year, turnover under £1m)Not statedNone ('Free banking on everyday transactions for the first 2 years'), then the Standard Tariff 'with no minimum monthly charge' · Source

Closing an account

Countingup

16.1 We can terminate this Agreement and close your Account at any time: 16.1.1 if we give you 90 days' notice and refund the Available Balance to you

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Countingup’s terms say

NatWest

We can close your account by: • giving you at least 90 days’ notice; and • telling you our reason for closing your account.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What NatWest’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeCountingupNatWest
LicenseeGriffin Bank Ltd · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 970920), which provides new Countingup accounts · Prepay Technologies Ltd · EMI authorised by the FCA (FRN 900010), for older accountsNational Westminster Bank Public Limited Company (NatWest) · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 121878)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA / PRA ·