Skip to content

Barclays vs NatWest: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, NatWest takes these industries by its own published rules: iGaming, with conditions; Adult, with conditions. We hold no such rule from Barclays.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

Barclays

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

NatWest

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

Barclays and NatWest: published policy by industry
IndustryBarclaysNatWest
iGamingNo published ruleWith conditions
AdultNo published ruleWith conditions
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo published rule
CryptoNo published ruleNo published rule
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

Barclays

At least one person on the application must be a UK resident

Owners and directors · · Source

NatWest

At least one person on the application is a UK resident

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

Barclays

No published rule

NatWest

No published rule

Fees

Barclays

Barclays: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current AccountNot statedNone for the first 12 months (not for businesses that already hold a Barclays business current account), then GBP 8.50 a month; transaction charges apply · Source

NatWest

NatWest: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current Account (Standard Tariff)Not statedNone ('Benefit from our Standard Tariff with no minimum monthly charge.'); each transaction is charged under the Standard Tariff · Source
Start-up account (trading under 1 year, turnover under £1m)Not statedNone ('Free banking on everyday transactions for the first 2 years'), then the Standard Tariff 'with no minimum monthly charge' · Source

Closing an account

Barclays

We can close an account (and stop providing any services and end this agreement) by giving you at least 90 days’ notice.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Barclays’s terms say

NatWest

We can close your account by: • giving you at least 90 days’ notice; and • telling you our reason for closing your account.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What NatWest’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeBarclaysNatWest
LicenseeBarclays Bank UK PLC · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 759676)National Westminster Bank Public Limited Company (NatWest) · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 121878)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA / PRA ·