Skip to content

Barclays vs Santander UK: what each publishes

As of October 17, 2026, we hold published rules from Barclays on 1 of 7 industries and from Santander UK on 2.

Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.

Where it takes companies from

Barclays

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Santander UK

The regions its own documents name, read on October 9, 2026

Policy by industry

Barclays and Santander UK: published policy by industry
IndustryBarclaysSantander UK
CryptoNo published ruleNo
Unlicensed financial servicesNoNo
iGamingNo published ruleNo published rule
AdultNo published ruleNo published rule
AI and SaaSNo published ruleNo published rule
Forex and CFDNo published ruleNo published rule
MarketplaceNo published ruleNo published rule

Where owners must live

Barclays

At least one person on the application must be a UK resident

Owners and directors · · Source

Santander UK

have a maximum of two directors, owners (shareholders) or partners who are 18 or over and live in the UK.

Owners and directors · · Source

Rules about countries

Barclays

No published rule

Santander UK

No published rule

Fees

Barclays

Barclays: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current AccountNot statedNone for the first 12 months (not for businesses that already hold a Barclays business current account), then GBP 8.50 a month; transaction charges apply · Source

Santander UK

Santander UK: published fees
PlanAccount openingMonthlyChecked
Business Current Account ClassicNot statedGBP 9.99 a month; none for the first 12 months for start-ups and switchers; cash, cheque, CHAPS and foreign currency transactions are charged · Source

Closing an account

Barclays

We can close an account (and stop providing any services and end this agreement) by giving you at least 90 days’ notice.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Barclays’s terms say

Santander UK

If we want to close your account or end this agreement, we'll normally give you notice and explain the reasons for our decision before we do this. We'll give you 90 days' notice if your account is a payment account.

Notice before closing · · Source

Account closed or frozen? What Santander UK’s terms say

Licence

LicenseeBarclaysSantander UK
LicenseeBarclays Bank UK PLC · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 759676)Santander UK plc · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 106054)
RegulatorFCA / PRA · FCA / PRA ·