- Home
- Comparisons
- Metro Bank vs Zempler Bank
Metro Bank vs Zempler Bank: what each publishes
As of October 17, 2026, Zempler Bank takes these industries by its own published rules: iGaming, with conditions. We hold no such rule from Metro Bank.
Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.
Where it takes companies from
Policy by industry
| Industry | Metro Bank | Zempler Bank |
|---|---|---|
| iGaming | No published rule | With conditions |
| Crypto | No published rule | Depends on the activity |
| Adult | No published rule | No |
| Unlicensed financial services | No published rule | No |
| AI and SaaS | No published rule | No published rule |
| Forex and CFD | No published rule | No published rule |
| Marketplace | No published rule | No published rule |
Where owners must live
Metro Bank
If you are a sole trader/sole signatory you need to be a UK resident to open this account. If there is more than one signatory, director or beneficial owner associated with the account, at least half of them must be UK residents.
Zempler Bank
At least one director is a UK resident
Rules about countries
Metro Bank
No published rule
Zempler Bank
Provided the applicant is a UK resident, your business is based in the UK and all other Zempler application checks and criteria are met, we can accept business account applications that list directors and/or Persons with Significant Control (PSCs) with a home address in the non-UK countries below.
All countries named (37)
Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guernsey, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jersey, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay
Fees
Metro Bank
| Plan | Account opening | Monthly | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business Bank Account | Not stated | GBP 8 in a month the balance falls below GBP 6,000 on any day (UK transactions GBP 0.30 each); no monthly fee in a month the balance stays at GBP 6,000 or more (30 free UK transactions, then GBP 0.30 each). New customers: 12 months fee-free (offer terms apply). | · Source |
Zempler Bank
| Plan | Account opening | Monthly | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business Go | Not stated | GBP 0 | · Source |
| Business Extra | Not stated | GBP 9 | · Source |
| Business Pro | Not stated | GBP 19 | · Source |
Closing an account
Metro Bank
If we can, we will tell you before we suspend the service or close the account (giving you two months’ notice).
Zempler Bank
15.6 If allowed by law, we may end the agreement for any reason by giving you at least 90 days' notice in writing.
Licence
| Licensee | Metro Bank | Zempler Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Licensee | Metro Bank PLC · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 488982) | Zempler Bank Limited (formerly Cashplus) · bank authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and the PRA (FRN 671140) |
| Regulator | FCA / PRA · | FCA / PRA · |

