- Home
- Comparisons
- Finom vs Kontist
Finom vs Kontist: what each publishes
As of October 17, 2026, Finom takes these industries by its own published rules: AI and SaaS. We hold no such rule from Kontist.
Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.
Where it takes companies from
Finom
Its own list of countries, quoted below with its source and date
Policy by industry
| Industry | Finom | Kontist |
|---|---|---|
| AI and SaaS | Yes | No published rule |
| Crypto | No | No published rule |
| iGaming | No | No published rule |
| Adult | No | No published rule |
| Unlicensed financial services | No | No published rule |
| Forex and CFD | No published rule | No published rule |
| Marketplace | No published rule | No published rule |
Where owners must live
Finom
The legal representative (the sole individual authorized to open a business account on behalf of a company) and the beneficial owners must possess a valid residence permit in one of the mentioned countries, irrespective of the country where their passport/ID card is issued. … Additionally, we welcome applications from US residents and citizens establishing businesses in the EU.
Kontist
Yes, legal representatives or beneficial owners can reside outside of Germany. We currently support the following countries: Austria Switzerland Germany France Italy Spain
Rules about countries
Kontist
At the moment, we support the following legal forms for companies – currently limited to businesses registered in Germany:
You and all other legal representatives are not taxable in the USA
Fees
Finom
| Plan | Account opening | Monthly | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | Not stated | EUR 0 | · Source |
| Basic | Not stated | EUR 21 excl. VAT paid monthly; EUR 17 per month paid yearly (Netherlands) | · Source |
| Smart | Not stated | EUR 40 excl. VAT paid monthly; EUR 34 per month paid yearly (Netherlands) | · Source |
| Pro | Not stated | EUR 149 excl. VAT paid monthly; EUR 119 per month paid yearly | · Source |
| Grow | Not stated | EUR 339 excl. VAT paid monthly; EUR 249 per month paid yearly | · Source |
Kontist
| Plan | Account opening | Monthly | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kontist Free | Not stated | EUR 0 (5 SEPA transfers and direct debits included) | · Source |
| Kontist Start | Not stated | EUR 11 per month plus VAT (30 SEPA transfers and direct debits included) | · Source |
| Kontist Plus | Not stated | EUR 25 per month plus VAT (100 SEPA transfers and direct debits included) | · Source |
Closing an account
Finom
FINOM PAYMENTS may terminate this Agreement, and therefore the provision of the Services, taking into account a termination period of one (1) month.
Kontist
9.3 Wir können den Nutzungsvertrag mit einer Frist von vier Wochen schriftlich oder per E-Mail kündigen.
Licence
| Licensee | Finom | Kontist |
|---|---|---|
| Licensee | Finom Payments B.V. · electronic money institution authorised by De Nederlandsche Bank (relation number R180074) | Shine Germany GmbH (Kontist by Shine) · accounts and cards provided by Solaris SE, credit institution supervised by BaFin (BaFin-ID 10143626) |
| Regulator | DNB · | BaFin (Solaris SE) · |
