- Home
- Comparisons
- Axos Bank vs First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank)
Axos Bank vs First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank): what each publishes
As of October 17, 2026, Axos Bank takes these industries by its own published rules: AI and SaaS; Crypto, with conditions; iGaming, with conditions; Unlicensed financial services, with conditions. First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank): Unlicensed financial services, with conditions; AI and SaaS, with conditions; Marketplace, with conditions.
Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.
Where it takes companies from
First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank)
The regions its own documents name, read on October 16, 2026
Policy by industry
| Industry | Axos Bank | First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank) |
|---|---|---|
| AI and SaaS | Yes | With conditions |
| Crypto | With conditions | Depends on the activity |
| iGaming | With conditions | No published rule |
| Unlicensed financial services | With conditions | With conditions |
| Marketplace | No published rule | With conditions |
| Adult | No published rule | No published rule |
| Forex and CFD | No published rule | No published rule |
Where owners must live
Axos Bank
U.S. citizenship is not required in order to open an account or be a signer on a business account, but you must be a U.S. resident with a physical U.S. address and social security number.
First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank)
No published rule
Rules about countries
Axos Bank
No published rule
First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank)
No published rule
Fees
Axos Bank
| Plan | Account opening | Monthly | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic Business Checking | Not stated | None ('Basic Business Checking is a business checking account with no monthly maintenance fees') | · Source |
| Business Interest Checking | Not stated | USD 10 a month, waived with a USD 5,000 minimum average daily balance ('monthly maintenance fee is waived with $5,000 minimum average daily balance') | · Source |
First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank)
| Plan | Account opening | Monthly | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials Checking | Not stated | USD 25 a month, waived with a USD 15,000 monthly average balance ('Monthly account maintenance fee of $25 is waived if billing family monthly average net collected balance is $15,000 or greater') | · Source |
| Essentials Checking through Startup Banking | Not stated | Free for up to three years, then USD 50 a month plus outgoing wire fees ('Free checking through Essentials Checking available for up to three years from account opening') | · Source |
Closing an account
Axos Bank
The Bank reserves the right to close your account for any reason or without cause. We need not advise you of the reason for taking this action. The Bank need not give advance notice of any closure.
First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank)
We may, at our discretion, and without notice, close, cancel, freeze, suspend or terminate any account, product or service you have with us, any time, with or without cause.
Licence
| Licensee | Axos Bank | First Citizens Innovation Banking (formerly Silicon Valley Bank) |
|---|---|---|
| Licensee | Axos Bank · federal savings bank chartered by the OCC, Member FDIC (FDIC cert 35546) | First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company · North Carolina state-chartered bank, Member FDIC (FDIC cert 11063) · First Citizens Innovation Banking, formerly Silicon Valley Bank, is a division of it |
| Regulator | FDIC / OCC · | FDIC · |

