- Home
- Comparisons
- BAWAG vs bunq Business
BAWAG vs bunq Business: what each publishes
As of October 17, 2026, BAWAG takes these industries by its own published rules: iGaming, with conditions; Unlicensed financial services, with conditions. We hold no such rule from bunq Business.
Not a ranking: the two names are in alphabetical order. The free check applies every provider’s rules to your own answers.
Where it takes companies from
bunq Business
Its own list of countries, quoted below with its source and date
Policy by industry
| Industry | BAWAG | bunq Business |
|---|---|---|
| iGaming | With conditions | No |
| Unlicensed financial services | With conditions | No |
| Crypto | No | Depends on the activity |
| Adult | No | No |
| Forex and CFD | No published rule | No |
| Marketplace | No published rule | No |
| AI and SaaS | No published rule | No published rule |
Where owners must live
BAWAG
No published rule
bunq Business
You cannot open a Business account if any UBOs or non-executives reside outside of the EEA.
Rules about countries
BAWAG
Nein, wenn der Sitz der Geschäftsleitung des Unternehmens im Ausland ist, ist leider keine online Kontoeröffnung möglich. Alternativ können Sie ein BAWAG Businesskonto in einer Filiale eröffnen. … Die BusinessBox Starter ist das ideale Firmenkonto für Start-Ups und junge Unternehmen in Österreich.
bunq Business
Your business needs to be legitimate and registered in one of the following countries: the Netherlands, Belgium, France, Germany, Austria, Spain, Italy, Ireland, or Portugal.
Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain
Fees
BAWAG
| Plan | Account opening | Monthly | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| BusinessBox Starter (companies up to 12 months after founding or entry in the commercial register; for 12 months, then BusinessBox Dynamic) | Not published | EUR 0.00 for at most 12 months, then BusinessBox Dynamic ('BusinessBox Starter (maximal 12 Monate) pro Monat € 0,00') | · Source |
| BusinessBox Dynamic | Not published | EUR 9.90 ('BusinessBox Dynamic pro Monat'), with 20 electronic transactions included ('20 Stück pro Monat inklusive') and the turnover-based handling fee only above EUR 5.000 a month ('Manipulationsentgelt bis EUR 5.000,- pro Monat') | · Source |
bunq Business
| Plan | Account opening | Monthly | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| bunq Core Business | Not stated | EUR 7.99 a month, 5 accounts included; the first three directors free, then EUR 5.99 a month for each further director | · Source |
| bunq Pro Business | Not stated | EUR 13.99 a month, 25 accounts included; the first three directors free, then EUR 5.99 a month for each further director | · Source |
| bunq Elite Business | Not stated | EUR 23.99 a month, 25 accounts included; the first three directors free, then EUR 5.99 a month for each further director | · Source |
Closing an account
BAWAG
1. Ordentliche Kündigung in der Geschäftsverbindung mit Unternehmern Z 22. Soweit keine Vereinbarung auf bestimmte Zeit vorliegt, können das Kreditinstitut und der Kunde die gesamte Ge- schäftsverbindung oder einzelne Teile davon (auch Kreditverträ- ge und Rahmenverträge für Zahlungsdienste wie insbesondere Girokontoverträge) jederzeit unter Einhaltung einer angemesse- nen Frist kündigen.
bunq Business
Sometimes we may need to terminate our agreement with you. For example, if we no longer offer bunq or your type of account. If this happens, we will provide you with two months’ notice.
Licence
| Licensee | BAWAG | bunq Business |
|---|---|---|
| Licensee | BAWAG P.S.K. Bank für Arbeit und Wirtschaft und Österreichische Postsparkasse Aktiengesellschaft · credit institution supervised by the European Central Bank and the Austrian Financial Market Authority (FN 205340x, Handelsgericht Wien) | bunq B.V. · bank licensed by De Nederlandsche Bank (Netherlands, DNB register R127999) |
| Regulator | European Central Bank / FMA Austria · | De Nederlandsche Bank · |

